THE PEACE AGREEMENT initialed in Dayton, Ohio, by the presidents of Bosnia, Croatia, and Serbia calls for the division of the war-torn country into two "entities." The General Framework Agreement for Peace in Bosnia-Herzegovina, signed on 21 November 1995, delineates the Muslim-Croat Federation, covering 51 percent of Bosnia's territory, and Republika Srpska, with 49 percent.

You have reached a premium content area of TOL. To read this entire article please login if you are already a TOL subscriber.

Not a subscriber?

Subscribe today for access to:
Full access to the website, including premium articles videos, country reports and searchable archives (containing over 25,000 articles).

You can subscribe here to gain access to the entire website.